Book Club Picks: It All Comes Back To You by Beth Duke


Using alternating chapters between main character “Homecoming Queen” Violet in 1947 and “can’t-quite-find-her-crown” Ronni in the present, It All Comes Back To You is Southern Fiction at its hilarious, warm, sad, outrageous, uplifting, and stunning best.

In the tradition of Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand and Olive Kitteridge, Duke delivers an unforgettable elderly character to treasure and a young heroine to steal your heart.

If you’re looking for some feel-good reading that will spark some lively discussion, recommend this book to your book club leader!

Purchase your copy here.

Back Cover Copy of It All Comes Back To You:

It’s 1947.
War’s over, cherry-print dresses, parking above the city lights, swing dancing.
Beautiful, seventeen-year-old Violet lives in a perfect world.
Everybody loves her.
In 2012, she’s still beautiful, charming, and surrounded by admirers.

Veronica “Ronni” Johnson, licensed practical nurse and aspiring writer, meets the captivating Violet in the assisted living facility where Violet requires no assistance, just lots of male attention. When she dies, she leaves Ronni a very generous bequest―only if Ronni completes a book about her life within one year. As she’s drawn into the world of young Violet, Ronni is mesmerized by life in a simpler time. It’s an irresistible journey filled with revelations, some of them about men Ronni knew as octogenarians at Fairfield Springs.

Struggling, insecure, flailing at the keyboard, Ronni juggles her patients, a new boyfriend, and a Samsonite factory of emotional baggage as she tries to craft a manuscript before her deadline.

But then the secrets start to emerge, some of them in person. And they don’t stop.

Everything changes.

About Beth Duke:

Beth Duke is an Amazon #1 Best Selling author and the recipient of short story awards on two continents. She is eyeing the other five. Beth lives in the mountains of her native Alabama with her husband, one real dog, one ornamental dog, and a flock of fluffy pet chickens. She loves reading, writing, and not arithmetic. Baking is a hobby, with semi-pro cupcakes and amateur macarons a specialty.

Book Club PicksBook Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]