6 Finalists Announced For The 2019 Women’s Prize For Fiction

The 2019 Women’s Prize For Fiction has narrowed its 16 longlisted works in the race for the Women’s Prize for Fiction to six authors.

This award recognizes books of different genres written in English by a woman.

The six shortlisted titles are:

  • The Silence of the Girls (Pat Barker, Hamish Hamilton)
  • My Sister, the Serial Killer (Oyinkan Braithwaite, Atlantic)
  • Milkman (Anna Burns, Faber)
  • Ordinary People (Diana Evans, Vintage)
  • An American Marriage (Tayari Jones, Vintage)
  • Circe (Madeline Miller, Bloomsbury).

Pat Barker’s The Silence of the Girls


Oyinkan Braithwaite’s My Sister, the Serial Killer is a debut novel.


Irish novelist Anna Burns’ Milkman has already received the 2018 Man Booker Prize.

Ordinary People by Diana Evans

Tayari Jones’ nominated novel An American Marriage recently won the 2019 Aspen Words Literary Prize.


Madeline Miller’s Circe

Image result for Circe (Madeline Miller, Bloomsbury).


The winner of the 2019 Women’s Prize, who also receives £30,000 ($55,030), will be announced on June 5.

Award WinnersBook News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Error: Contact form not found.