The Shirley Jackson Award Winners Announced

In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The Shirley Jackson Award is voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors.  The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

The 2018 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 14, 2019, at Readercon 30, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Quincy, Massachusetts. Readercon Guests of Honor Tananarive Due and Stephen Graham Jones were the hosts for the ceremony.

The winners of the 2018 Shirley Jackson Awards are:

NOVEL: Little Eve, Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicolson, an imprint of The Orion Publishing Group)

Purchase your copy here.

NOVELLA: The Taiga Syndrome, Cristina Rivera Garza (Dorothy, a Publishing Project)

Purchase your copy here.

NOVELETTE: “Help the Witch,” Tom Cox (Help the Witch)

 SHORT FICTION: “The Astronaut,” Christina Wood Martinez (Granta 142: Animalia)

 SINGLE-AUTHOR COLLECTION: All the Fabulous Beasts, Priya Sharma (Undertow Publications)

Purchase your copy here.

EDITED ANTHOLOGY: Robots vs Fairies, edited by Navah Wolfe and Dominik Parisien (Saga Press)

Purchase your copy here.


About Shirley Jackson:

Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery.” Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work. National Book Critics Circle Award-winning novelist Jonathan Lethem has called Jackson “one of this century’s most luminous and strange American writers,” and multiple generations of authors would agree.

Award WinnersBook News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Error: Contact form not found.